Its Good to be Back (recipe included)

Screenshot 2016-02-09 at 8.13.03 PM

 It’s been about a month since I’ve been back from vacation and I have been getting that feeling to run into the kitchen and get cooking! And that’s exactly what happened.

If you didn’t get to read about my time in the Middle East make sure to go to the personnel experiences section and read about it.

Anyways, within the first two week of coming back, I decided how can I I cooking if I don’t have any new equipment? And so I bought a ton of new stuff to further help me in my baking: A new steel rolling pin, a whole set of cookie cutters, New lemon juicer, and a nice Wok pan that comes with a spatula.

 Screenshot 2016-02-09 at 8.20.57 PM   Screenshot 2016-02-09 at 8.12.30 PM

Screenshot 2016-02-09 at 8.21.05 PM   Screenshot 2016-02-09 at 8.20.48 PM

With a set of new and fresh equipment, it was time to get back into shape.

My club in school, (Middle Eastern club), were set out to go to the Night ministry in Chicago to give food to the homeless. Some people volunteered to bring pasta whiles others brought falafel. I knew this was the perfect opportunity, this was y moment to give my parents an excuse as to why I should get to cook.

So, I made a large batch of 60 sugar cookies, each shaped as either a house, mickey mouse, snowflake, star heart or Christmas tree.

The recipe is very simple its just

  • 3 sticks softened unsalted butter
  • 2 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 5 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

Throw in sugar and butter into the bowl first and cream and next add each egg at a time. Once mixed add the rest of ingredients, chill and roll out next day.

Screenshot 2016-02-09 at 8.12.39 PM  Screenshot 2016-02-09 at 8.12.49 PM

To view the full recipe with pictures of each step demonstrated along with tips and a nice frosting recipe, the full amazing recipe can be viewed at my older post, https://bakedtothebone.wordpress.com/2015/10/31/pumpkin-decorated-sugar-cookies/

Following this I made some homemade frosting by beating powdered sugar, milk, butter and vanilla extract on high speed in my kitchen aid, check it out!

Full frosting walk through can also be viewed at the link above with the sugar cookie recipe.

Eventually my cookies ended up like this.

Screenshot 2016-02-09 at 8.13.03 PM

To this day I am still cooking! These cookies were made two weeks ago so….

I am taking cooking classes that my high school is offering as an elective and we have made tons of recipes that I will be sure to give out by the end of February.

On the other note, I won’t be able to write anymore sur la table class posts anytime soon because Chef Amber Lancaster (my favorite teacher) no longer works there. So I won’t be taking a class till march or even August! It’s sad because my cooking class posts usually get so many views from you guys.

I want to keep this short and just wanted to let you guys know how things are going and to apologize for not releasing an actual cooking post in a long time. My other posts on my trip did not receive much views and weren’t the best so from now on only Cooking!

Make sure to comment on any of my post, be the first to comment and I will make sure to include you in my next posts. I have had over 400 views and many posts but still no comments 🙂

Lastly, I will be posting an official recipe post this Sunday or Monday. I will be giving out the recipe for Chocolate ice cream sandwiches. I will include many pictures with each step as usual and maybe a video to show how to make it. They are delicious!

Till then, thanks for viewing and make sure to check out some of my other amazing recipe posts in the recipe category or better yet check out my reviews and opinions category, tons of cool posts!

– Chef/Author Zubair M.

 

Leave a comment