Black Friday; was it worth shopping for cooking supplies?

Now when most of us think about Black Friday, this is what comes to mind.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DigiWS1YhxI
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DigiWS1YhxI

This was not the case for me and a bunch others who had decided to have a calm Thanksgiving dinner and take our time to go shopping. Unlike many others who had made tents out in the cold weather to rush inside of a store by the time the clock struck 6:00pm.

No but seriously, what’s the point of calling it Black Friday if they started all the sales and door openers at 6:00 pm on a Thursday. It should be called Black Thursday if you ask me.

Moving back on topic, Black Friday is one of those great events that shows people what a good idea it is to be thankful for what they have on Thanksgiving and then afterwards run into a store and fight over some TV that was marked off.

Electronics are usually the most targeted items on Black Friday and some have very nice and reduced prices. As do cooking supplies.

Story Time!

My family and I decided to go Black Friday shopping at 11:00 so that the crowd had died down and plus we were in no rush. We went to our near by mall and checked some of the stuff out.

The mall, a place where I usually want to leave as soon as possible
The mall, a place where I usually want to leave as soon as possible

Ya and that girl in the picture, a stranger by the way, thought it was funny to photobomb my picture.

Moving on, when we reached the cooking supply section, I was both amazed to see that prices actually were marked down on some of the items, while others were just phony.

Let’s use an Artisan kitchenaid stand mixer for my example. Any website or store you go, they will always and I mean always will have  Artisan Kitchen-aid stand mixer at a price of $350 average, even Williams-Sonoma does and we all know how overpriced and cheap they are!

But when I saw that the stand mixer had a tag claiming the original price was $499 and that it was marked down to $350, I was outraged! What a shame from such a reliable store…

Screenshot 2015-11-29 at 2.15.50 PM

Tip: If you want to buy a Kitchen-aid stand mixer, don’t buy it on Black Friday, even websites sham about discounts these so called sales offer.

But, Black Friday is a really good opportunity to save some major bucks on pans and cookware if not stand mixers.

Screenshot 2015-11-29 at 2.14.51 PM  Screenshot 2015-11-29 at 2.16.27 PM  Screenshot 2015-11-29 at 2.16.09 PM

Their are so many great deals someone could get on skillets and nonstick scan pans if they decide to buy on Black Friday. Lets look at some examples below.

Screenshot 2015-11-29 at 2.16.19 PM     Screenshot 2015-11-29 at 2.15.02 PM

Considering from the research I have done and all the different outlets I have seen, most ceramic cookware sets for some reason are overpriced and always in the $300 dollar zone. But a set of 11 ceramic cookware, that too from a leading brand like Calphalon, is a big save.

Stainless steel cookware pans, we all know how fancy those are. According to Sur la table, a set of 10 stainless steel pans are $499.95. Our friends back at Amazon had the same set of Cuisinart pans for $226 while Walmart sold the set at $199.85. But on that Black Friday, cuisinart was selling a set of 11 pans for just $79.99! Wow that’s a keeper, if I didn’t already have a set at home that box would have been the first thing in my shopping cart.

Summary:

If your going to buy some cookware and equipment from Cyber Monday or Black Friday or to be honest on any sales day, it is drum roll please….. Worth it. But as I had even said in my Kitchen-aid rating article I did before (https://bakedtothebone.wordpress.com/2015/11/10/kitchen-aid-stand-mixers-are-they-really-worth-it) , everything Worth it is to an extent. Even Black Friday Shopping.

There are some brands that you should just avoid and stay away from when it comes to shopping from sales. Avoid contact from buying Kitchen-aid product. Kitchenaid is a good brand don’t get me wrong, but don’t go running into a store when a sale comes around and be expecting Kitchen-aid to give a discount. I couldn’t even find discount on most of there stuff online! Buy their supplies on a given basis or when there is a coupon you get but don’t use the energy to only go into a store expecting sales on Kitchenaid, it just doesn’t happen. Plus lets be honest, a lot of their stuff is overpriced. I am not paying $200+ on one of there food processors! We all know Cuisinart food processors are better. Ooh I should write a article on that.

  Screenshot 2015-11-29 at 2.14.31 PM     Screenshot 2015-11-29 at 2.14.38 PM

Other overpriced and sale shamming major brands to look out for and avoid on Black Friday or Sales are Food Network, Staub, or Le Creuset. They will repeat the process of stating a higher price the product supposedly was and claim the sale is what their original price is.

Screenshot 2015-11-29 at 2.15.37 PM

I was not born yesterday, I know that is not a Sale! who would pay so much for so little.

As you could obviously tell from reading the article so far, major brands that are worth shopping for and actually are generous to give even and fair sale prices are Cuisinart, Calphalon, and Hamilton Beach. 

I might not have had picture from Hamilton Beach products that were on shelf on Black Friday, but their were many coffee makers, breakfast makers, and much more appliances that Hamilton Beach was having reasonable sales on. A fancy $20 coffee maker with included accessories is definitely worth it!

Here are the rest of the pictures I took from shopping that day on cooking supplies.

Screenshot 2015-11-29 at 2.14.08 PM  Screenshot 2015-11-29 at 2.14.15 PM   Screenshot 2015-11-29 at 2.14.24 PM

Screenshot 2015-11-29 at 2.15.58 PM    Screenshot 2015-11-29 at 2.13.44 PM

Screenshot 2015-11-29 at 2.15.11 PMScreenshot 2015-11-29 at 2.13.35 PM

Thanks again everybody for viewing and helping me reach 120 total views on my blog it really means a lot and if possible try to spread the word so we can raise the number of views. You can always contact me at zubairmuhammad827@gmail.com and check out my about me category at the top of the page to learn more about me.

– Chef/Author Zubair 

 

Leave a comment